Men's Divorce Law Firm Logo
Types of Florida Alimony
Types of Florida Alimony

You might be surprised to learn that in Florida there is more than one type of alimony. Below are the four primary types of spousal support that may be available to you:

Bridge-the-Gap Alimony

As the name indicates, this type of alimony is awarded in order to assist the receiving spouse in transitioning from married life to single life. It is awarded if the spouse to be supported can demonstrate legitimate, short-term financial needs. Bridge-the-gap alimony payments must be for a term of two years or less. Once this type of support has been awarded, it cannot be terminated by the parties and the amount or the term cannot be reduced or increased. If the receiving spouse dies or re-marries, it terminates.

Rehabilitative Alimony

The court will award rehabilitative alimony when the supported spouse needs time to develop or re-develop job skills in order to be self-supporting. The most common example is when a spouse has a job and quits it to raise children. His or her skills may be outdated or certain required credentials have lapsed and the spouse needs financial assistance until he or she can get a job in the applicable field or industry.

To qualify for rehabilitative alimony, the receiving spouse must submit a specific rehabilitative plan. This includes informing the court of where he or she wants to go to school, how long the training will take to complete, the cost, and the expected increase in earning potential that will result from the additional education or training. This type of spousal support can be modified by the court if there is a substantial change in circumstances.

Durational Alimony

Durational alimony is a form of support that is most commonly used in divorces where the couple has been married seven to seventeen years. It is considered a moderate form of support that lasts longer than short-term support but where permanent alimony is not appropriate. It is for a set period of time that should not be longer than the amount of time the couple was married. Durational alimony can be modified if there is a substantial change of circumstances, but it automatically terminates upon the death of either party or if the receiving spouse remarries.

Permanent Alimony

Permanent alimony is typically awarded when a couple has been married long-term (over 17 years). This type of alimony provides financial support until either party dies, the receiving spouse remarries, or the court enters an order terminating it. The good news for the paying spouse is that permanent alimony is generally tax deductible.

If you are facing divorce or you have other family law needs, our legal team is here to help. Contact the Men’s Divorce Law Firm to schedule a consultation with a caring professional, and aggressive advocate for men’s rights in divorce, child timesharing (custody), and paternity matters.